NHRA Announces Remainder of 2020 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series

YPSILANTI, MI (September 2, 2020) — NHRA announced today the remainder of the 2020 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season. In collaboration with all stakeholders, NHRA plans to hold six national events to complete the 2020 season. 

The 2020 NHRA season has looked very different due to the global pandemic. NHRA has worked closely with its partner tracks and race teams to construct a schedule that will honor its rich racing history. 

“We appreciate the NHRA working to schedule and conduct as many races as possible,” said Chad Head Kalitta Motorsports General Manager. “We have all been working with local and state officials to make sure we are hosting safe events for everyone. The race to the championship will be exciting and we are looking forward to more success with our Kalitta Motorsports teams.” 

Dates for the remaining NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series are as follows: 

Sept. 3-6                           NHRA U.S Nationals, Indianapolis, IN. 

Sept. 25-27                       NHRA Gatornationals, Gainesville, Fla. 

Oct. 2-4                             NHRA Midwest Nationals, St. Louis 

Oct. 14-18                         AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals, Dallas  

Oct. 23-25                         NHRA SpringNationals, Houston 

Oct. 29-Nov. 1                   NHRA Finals, Las Vegas 

At the conclusion of the NHRA Finals in Las Vegas, the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series will crown its four champions in each of the respective professional categories, including Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro Stock and Pro Stock Motorcycle. With the elimination of the traditional Countdown to the Championship playoffs, every round of racing is crucial. Race teams will be ready to battle it out for their shot at an NHRA world championship.