DeJoria Wins in Indy Becoming Only Fourth Female Pro Winner in U.S. Nationals Nationals 60-Year History; Team Kalitta Eliminations Recap – Indy

INDIANAPOLIS, (Sept. 1, 2014) – Alexis DeJoria, driver of the Patrón XO Café Toyota Camry Funny Car for Kalitta Motorsports, won NHRA drag racing’s “Super Bowl” Labor Day Monday, by claiming her first victory at the world’s most prestigious and acclaimed drag racing event in the world, the 60th annual NHRA U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, affectionately nicknamed “The Big Go”.

DeJoria became only the fourth professional female racer to ever garner a tile trophy at the U.S. Nationals with her win. While doing so, she became the first woman to win at least three events in the Funny Car class in one season. She also becomes only the second member of Kalitta Motorsports’ over 50-year history to win a nitro “Wally” (trophy) at Indy. Team owner and drag racing icon  Connie “the Bounty Hunter” Kalitta won the Top Fuel title in Indy in 1994.

“It’s a huge honor to represent such an incredible group of guys and a legend like Connie Kalitta, and I thank him every day for asking me to join their team,” said DeJoria. “It’s really amazing to be the first woman to win three events in a year, but mostly I’m just so happy to have won this for Connie, Tommy (DeLago, crew chief), Glen (Huszar, co-crew chief) and my whole team, who has worked so incredibly hard, and it was great to get the job done today at such a huge race.”

Despite only his second first-round eliminations loss of the 2014 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, Connie’s nephew Doug Kalitta, driver of the Mac Tools Top Fuel dragster, clinched the No. 1 seed in NHRA’s “playoffs”, the Countdown to the Championship, which begin at the next event in Charlotte and continue through the final six events of the season.

J.R. Todd, driver of the Optima Batteries/Advance Auto Parts Top Fuel dragster, unfortunately also had his day end early in the opening round, but like his teammate he also secured his spot in the Countdown (No. 10) in Indy.

DeJoria’s Kalitta Motorsports Funny Car teammate Del Worsham, driver of the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car, advanced to the quarterfinals in Indy eliminations and locked in the No. 9 spot in the Funny Car Countdown.

Team Kalitta nitro race cars have six event wins and have appeared in 18 championship rounds so far in the 24-event 2014 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule of events this year. Photos

Alexis DeJoria – Driver of the Patrón XO Café Toyota Camry Funny Car:

No. 7 Qualifier (4.033 sec., 316.52 mph)

E1: DeJoria defeated C. Pedregon – 4.077 sec., 313.22 mph to 4.825 sec., 186.23 mph
E2: DeJoria defeated Alexander – 4.039 sec., 315.49 mph to 4.112 sec., 304.60 mph
E3: DeJoria defeated C. Force – 4.057 sec., 311.77 mph to 4.069 sec., 308.92 mph
E4: DeJoria defeated J. Force – 4.038 sec., 310.34 mph to 4.039 sec., 319.67 mph

Del Worsham – Driver of the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car:

No. 4 Qualifier (4.016 sec., 317.12 mph)

E1: Worsham defeated Arend – 4.054 sec., 314.02 mph to 4.697 sec., 204.88 mph
E2: Worsham defeated by Capps – (Foul-Red) to 4.071 sec., 317.42 mph

Doug Kalitta – Driver of the Mac Tools Top Fuel Dragster:

No. 9 Qualifier (3.787 sec., 304.12 mph)

E1: Kalitta defeated by Lagana – 4.415 sec., 270.92 mph to 3.862 sec., 306.12 mph

J.R. Todd  – Driver of the Optima Batteries/Advance Auto Parts Top Fuel Dragster:

No. 15 Qualifier (3.814 sec., 323.89 mph)

E1: Todd defeated by S. Torrence – 5.559 sec., 127.38 mph to 3.793 sec., 318.99 mph

Mello Yello Championship Points:

Top Fuel (Final Regular Season)

1. Doug Kalitta (1479)
2. Antron Brown (1385)
3. Shawn Langdon (1261)
4. Tony Schumacher (1160)
5. Steve Torrence (1075)
6. Spencer Massey (985)
7. Khalid alBalooshi (959)
8. Richie Crampton (958)
9. Brittany Force (921)
10. J.R. Todd (836)

Top Fuel (Countdown to the Championship)

1. Doug Kalitta – 2110
2. Antron Brown – 2080
3. Shawn Langdon – 2070
4. Tony Schumacher – 2060
5. Steve Torrence – 2050
6. Spencer Massey – 2040
7. Khalid alBalooshi – 2030
8. Richie Crampton – 2020
9. Brittany Force – 2010
10. J.R. Todd – 2000

Funny Car (Final Regular Season)

1. John Force (1420)
2. Robert Hight (1340)
3. Ron Capps (1188)
4. Alexis DeJoria (1148)
5. Tommy Johnson Jr. (1107)
6. Courtney Force (1093)
7. Matt Hagan (1074)
8. Cruz Pedregon (963)
9. Del Worsham (961)
10. Tim Wilkerson (883)

Funny Car (Countdown to the Championship)

1. John Force – 2110
2. Robert Hight – 2080
3. Ron Capps – 2070
4. Alexis DeJoria – 2060
5. Tommy Johnson Jr. – 2050
6. Courtney Force – 2040
7. Matt Hagan – 2030
8. Cruz Pedregon – 2020
9. Del Worsham – 2010
10. Tim Wilkerson – 2000

Konnekt with Kalitta Motorsports:

For more info about Kalitta Motorsports including exclusive content such as videos, photos and more, please visit #KalittaStrong online –