Kalitta Motorsports News

DELRAY BEACH, Fla. (June 18, 2013) With the second of a string of four back-to-back races just days away, there's no rest for the weary as Alexis DeJoria and her Kalitta Motorsports Tequila Patron Toyota Camry Funny Car team head due north this week for the highly anticipated inaugural event at New England Dragway, the Auto-Plus NHRA New England Nationals in Epping, N.H.

The Patron team, which counts their past race in Bristol, Tenn. as a success, is looking forward to riding the momentum into the newest stop on the 24 race NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series tour.  The NHRA has posted numerous reports regarding the incredible fan response for the northeastern race, and DeJoria is looking to leave a lasting impression amongst a new set of fans.

BRISTOL, Tenn. (June 16, 2013) After a string of first round losses, the Kalitta Motorsports Tequila Patron Toyota Camry Funny Car team broke their streak when driver Alexis DeJoria defeated former Kalitta teammate Jeff Arend in the first round of eliminations at Bristol Dragway during the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals on Sunday afternoon.

The team's solid 4.096-second run from Friday night's second round of qualifying positioned them in the top half of the field in the No. 8 spot, earning them the advantage of lane choice against Arend. DeJoria, who visited the final round in her rookie campaign at this race last year, was quick off the line giving her the initial advantage. After dropping a cylinder, it looked like Arend might steal the win, but DeJoria held on, driving the car like a seasoned veteran, and was able to seal the deal and advance Team Patron to round two of eliminations.

BRISTOL, Tenn., (June 15, 2013) – Kalitta Motorsports is honoring one of their own family members, Tammy “O” Oberhofer, beginning Saturday in Bristol, Tenn. with a special edition “777” wristband as the team competes at Bristol Dragway in the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals.

Tammy and husband Jim “O” have been an integral part of the Kalitta Motorsports family for 30 years. Tammy, first serving as the team’s public relations representative and most recently as the team’s office manager, has been battling cancer for over a year.

Because of Tammy’s affection for playing slot machines, the special wristbands depict three 7’s, a jackpot winning combination, as a symbol of good luck and a reminder that the team is always thinking of her. Jesse James, the husband of Alexis DeJoria who drives the Tequila Patron Toyota Camry Funny Car for Kalitta Motorsports, created and produced the wristbands.

Jim “O” serves as the team’s vice president of operations and as crew chief on the Mac Tools Top Fuel dragster driven by Doug Kalitta. Tammy’s brother-in-law Jon Oberhofer is co-crew chief on the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car driven by Del Worsham.

The Results:

Q1: 4.142 ET at 303.32 MPH

Q2: 4.096 ET at 312.42 MPH

Q3: 7.066 ET at 95.05 MPH

Q4: 5.937 ET at 177.59 MPH

The Competition:

No. 8 Alexis DeJoria (lane choice) vs. No. 9 Jeff Arend


Alexis DeJoria, Driver

“We were really excited coming back to the Bristol Dragway for the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals this year. We went to the finals here last year, so that gave us an added boost of confidence coming through the gate.”

“Qualifying started off pretty well. We ran a good 4.09 in that Friday night session, which is key, and allowed us to stay in the top half of the field through both the third and fourth rounds. Today was all about focusing on our warm weather tune-up which will help us in tomorrow’s warm conditions. Hopefully, we’ll go rounds tomorrow just like we did last year, except this time we would like to seal the deal and come out on top.”


Del Worsham: Driver of the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car

Q1: 4.136 seconds, 302.82 mph
Q2: 4.008 seconds, 314.83 mph (Three bonus points for quickest of the session)
Q3: 6.909 seconds, 97.27 mph
Q4: 6.638 seconds, 95.79 mph

Qualifies: 1st – Worsham’s 4.008-second run in the second qualifying session is the quickest Funny Car run of the year so far in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, and is the ninth quickest of all time. The mark is also a career-best and Bristol Dragway track record for Worsham. The No. 1 spot for Worsham is the sixth of his career in Funny Car and 13th of his nitro racing career. The last and only other time a Kalitta Motorsports Funny Car qualified No. 1 was in Baton Rouge, La., in 1988 with the late Scott Kalitta in the driver’s seat. Worsham’s previous No. 1 Funny Car qualifier was with Al-Anabi Racing during the spring event in Las Vegas in 2010 (2011 Finals in Pomona, Calif., in Top Fuel).

Alexis Dejoria Racing DELRAY BEACH, Fla. (June 12, 2013)— As the Kalitta Motorsports Tequila Patrón Toyota Camry Funny Car team roars into Thunder Valley today, they’re hoping history will repeat itself at Bristol Dragway- the picturesque track that cuts through the Appalachian Mountains.  It was at this race last year, the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals, where the Patrón team had their very first taste of what it would be like to win a national NHRA event.

After three rounds of defeating seasoned veteran drivers, first-year Funny Car pilot Alexis DeJoria and her rookie team made it all the way to the final-round- an impressive feat for a novice team. While they ended up falling to Ron Capps in the finals, a runner-up finish proved to everyone that Team Patrón was not to be taken lightly.  At their very next race in Chicago they advanced into the semi-finals. Now, with a four week stretch of back-to-back racing on the horizon, kicking off with this weekend’s event in Bristol, Team Patrón hopes to get things off to a good start at the state-of-the-art facility in the foothills of Tennessee.

kstrong banner

NHRA Next Event

Running a Mac Tools Mobile Franchise is One of the Best Jobs You Can Have.

Top Fuel for Life

Have you got your copy of Top Fuel for Life? Click to purchase!
For any questions, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Donate to the
Tammy O Foundation


On the Run with Ashley


Mello Yello Championship Points

Top Fuel (Unofficial)

1. Doug Kalitta (112)
2. Tony Schumacher (95)
3. Clay Millican (84)
4. Antron Brown (78)
5. Steve Torrence (60) 
6. Scott Palmer (47)
7. Brittany Force (35)
8. Leah Pritchett (32)
8. Mike Salinas (32)
8. Steve Faria (32)
13. Richie Crampton (27)

Funny Car (Unofficial)

1. Matt Hagan (127)
2. Robert Hight (101)
3. Jack Beckman (81)
4. Ron Capps (78)
5. Jonnie Lindberg (51)
6. J.R. Todd (49)
6. Tim Wilkerson (49)
8. Cruz Pedregon (48)
9. Courtney Force (36)
10. Shawn Langdon (32)
10. Tommy Johnson Jr. (32)
10. Del Worsham (32)